Master Manipulator?

Have you ever taken a personality test and cringed at the result? We had an exercise in my business strategy class tonight to discern the degree of our Machiavellian nature. I wasn’t just high Machiavellian. I was the most Machiavellian in my class: Always employs manipulation in business practices.

I’m still reeling. Really?? I’m doing my best to blame in on the highly cynical, negative industry I’ve been in for the last five years, but I can’t help but think I must really be that way.

Spike was no help, not surprisingly. “Am I manipulative?” I asked innocently.

“That’s a trick question,” he stubbornly refused to answer.

Smart man. I know his answer, otherwise he would have said, “No, that test is stupid.”

He did throw me a bone, saying all business is Machiavellian. I’d like to go with that and conclude that I must be the most super business woman in my class of business majors.

3 thoughts on “Master Manipulator?

  1. If you type “manipulate : define” in a Google search you’ll get the definition I use when thinking about manipulation.

    1. handle or control (a tool, mechanism, etc.), typically in a skillful manner.

    Your goal in business is to get a particular result. There is nothing wrong with using tools, physical or psychological, to try to get the results you are looking for. Motivating employees could be seen as manipulation. You are handling a situation in a particular way to get a particular result.

    That doesn’t mean you’re being underhanded about it. Sneaky? Maybe… Happy employees work better, which in theory would up production.

    Being manipulative doesn’t mean you’re a bad person. It means you do everything you can to get the results you want. That whole, “With great power…,” thing.

    I don’t agree with the word the test is using because there’s such stigmatism around the word “manipulation”. You’re such a driven person that I’m not surprised you got the, “I do everything I can do to see my endeavors to fruition,” result.

    Don’t let it bug you, Mama Spike. You kick ass and take names. And I think you have the right of it. The test is telling you you’re the most super awesome-est business woman in your class. Show them how a pro does it. : )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Is it bad that one knows what one wants, what to do in order to get it and who to speak to and how? Is it bad to be direct and focused on a goal?

    Tricking people into crossing the line of their own capabilities and beliefs is bad. But if one does no harm – I truly can’t see a fault.

    As long as you’re not abusive it’s just fine.
    It’s not the skill that’s “bad”. It’s all about how we use it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

